When can I call myself an Author?

A Hidden Life

A good friend of mine was over today and we chatted about how far we had come since childhood. Her, shortly, to become a lawyer, and myself…an author? I laughed at the notion and avoided saying it aloud when she asked me to.

So I beg the question. What makes you an author in 2014? I am going the self-published route and in my mind that means I’m not an author. I know that’s not right but that’s how I view it. The last 3 years of writing, the editing, the days at Starbucks, don’t make me an author in my eyes. I haven’t self-published yet but even when I do I still don’t think I’ll consider myself an author. Sadly, the main reason I feel that way is because I’m not being published the traditional route. In my mind I still need that third-party (aside from myself…

View original post 194 more words

About barbaraswrittenwords

I am a writer, farmer, certified herbalist, friend and child of God. I try to create streams of words that flow to please all those who read them.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

